Duncan Introduces Resolution Condemning Common Core

February 12, 2014
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Today Congressman Jeff Duncan (SC-03) introduced H. Res. 476, which denounces the use of federal coercion to lure states into adopting Common Core academic standards. The companion resolution to Senator Lindsey Graham’s S. Res. 345 also underlines the importance of returning education to the states.

“Common Core is one of the most frequent concerns I hear from parents when I’m traveling across the district. Parents and teachers alike are alarmed by this top-down approach to education that wrongly ties education money for states to the adoption of academic standards that do not fully reflect the values of South Carolina. Beyond the most important constitutional issues with federal education standards, many education leaders have been raising concerns with the content of the standards themselves.”

“As a father to three boys, I know first-hand that every child is different and every child learns differently. Education needs to be personalized and flexible, which means education policy needs to originate from our local communities and not from some bureaucrats in Washington, DC. The Washington-knows-best approach has repeatedly failed the very children it proposes to help. It’s time to roll back Common Core and return education to the people who it matters most to –children, parents, and teachers.”

“Classrooms cannot and should not be coerced into adopting federal academic standards. That’s not just my belief; it’s federal law.”

Original co-sponsors of H Res. 476 include: Joe Wilson (SC-02), Andy Harris (MD-01), Mick Mulvaney (SC-05), Trent Franks (AZ-08), Doug Collins (GA-09), Randy Hultgren (IL-14), Tim Huelskamp (KS-01), Thomas Massie (KY-04), Marsha Blackburn (TN-07), Lee Terry (NE-02), Justin Amash (MI-03), Tom Cotton (AR-04), Mike Rogers (AL-03), Matt Salmon (AZ-05), Bob Gibbs (OH-07), Walter B. Jones (NC-03), Pete Sessions (TX-32), Mike Pompeo (KS-04), Mark Sanford (SC-01), Jack Kingston (GA-01), Leonard Lance (NJ-07), Kerry Bentivolio (MI-11), Paul Cook (CA-08), Kevin Cramer (ND-AL), Steve Daines (MT-AL), John Fleming (LA-04), James Lankford (OK-05), Rob Bishop (UT-01), Randy K. Weber (TX-14), Marlin Stutzman (IN-03), Mark Meadows (NC-11), Ted Yoho (FL-03), Doug LaMalfa (CA-01), Louie Gohmert (TX-01), Bill Flores (TX-17), Steve King (IA-04), Steve Chabot (OH-01), Tom Rooney (FL-17), Chris Stewart (UT-02), Rick Crawford (AR-01), Paul Gosar (AZ-04), and Dan Benishek (MI-01).