Duncan Leads Letter on ICC Investigation into Israel

April 1, 2021
Press Release

Laurens, S.C. – Congressman Jeff Duncan (SC-03) led a letter to President Biden and Secretary of State Antony Blinken expressing strong opposition to the International Criminal Court’s (ICC) biased investigation into Israel:

“The ICC’s investigation into Israeli military actions is not only a significant jurisdictional overreach, but the Palestinian Authority’s support for such investigation is also in clear violation of American law. The United States and Israel are not parties to the Rome Statute of the ICC, meaning the ICC has no legal authority over the U.S. or Israel. The Court based its jurisdiction on the views expressed by the United Nations General Assembly and other non-legal bodies. Further, Congress has long supported the bipartisan policy to prohibit funding assistance for the Palestinian Authority should they violate certain conditions relating to ICC investigations. This language was most recently included in the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2021, signed into law by President Trump in December of 2020.

“It is critical for the Biden Administration to stand firm in upholding the law of the land and hold the ICC and the Palestinian Authority accountable. That is why my colleagues and I have sent a letter to President Biden and Secretary Blinken expressing the need for the current Administration to enforce the law as written in the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2021 and bar funding assistance for the Palestinian Authority given their active support for the ICC’s investigation into Israel. We further outlined how ICC misuse is a threat to American soldiers and our allies and undermines ongoing Israeli-Palestinian peace talks. My colleagues and I stand ready to assist the Biden Administration on this matter in any way we can.”

The following groups and organizations support the letter led by Congressman Duncan: Americans Against Antisemitism, the Jewish Preservation Heritage Society, The Brandeis Center, Human Rights Voices, StandWithUs, the National Jewish Advocacy Center, and Alliance for Israel. 

Signers: Reps. Randy Weber, Gus Bilirakis, James Baird, Brian Babin, Ashley Hinson, Chuck Fleischman, Louie Gohmert, Guy Reschenthaler, Ralph Norman, Doug Lamborn, Andrew Garbarino, Matt Gaetz, Diana Harshbarger, Andy Biggs, Bill Posey, Lance Gooden, Ted Budd, Tom McClintock, Jody Hice, Greg Steube, Cathy McMorris Rodgers, Robert Aderholt, Bob Good, and Michael Cloud.

Read the letter HERE.