Duncan Introduces Protecting American Energy Production Act

February 3, 2021
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Congressman Jeff Duncan (SC-03), Member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee and Co-Chair of the House Energy Action Team, introduced the Protecting American Energy Production Act:

“The Biden Administration has wasted no time in undermining American energy production and eliminating thousands of good paying jobs in the process. President Biden’s devastating energy agenda is wreaking havoc on our dominant energy security achieved under the Trump Administration. By signing executive orders that prohibit the issuance of new oil and gas leases on federal lands, the President is signaling he will use any means necessary to eliminate fossil fuel production in the U.S. Instead of prioritizing American jobs and American energy, President Biden would rather appease the far left and rely on energy from foreign adversaries, who have negligent environmental standards, and promote policies with harmful economic implications.

“Due to the work of the Trump Administration and innovation in our oil and gas sector, the United States is the number one oil and gas producer in the world. According to a recent study, placing a moratorium on hydraulic fracturing would mean a $900 billion increase in U.S. household energy costs, $7.1 trillion in potential losses to the U.S. economy through 2030, and over 7 million fewer U.S. jobs by 2022. Further, it would force the U.S. to import 40 percent of our oil and petroleum products and 29 percent of our natural gas by 2030. The Protecting American Energy Production Act would prohibit the President from banning fracking and in turn safeguard our energy production, our national security, and the livelihoods of thousands of Americans.”

Background: This bill prohibits the President from declaring a moratorium on the use of hydraulic fracturing unless Congress authorizes the moratorium. The bill also expresses the sense of Congress that states should maintain primacy for the regulation of hydraulic fracturing for oil and natural gas production on state and private lands. Read the bill HERE.

Original Cosponsors (34): Mullin (OK), Norman (SC), Weber (TX), Newhouse (WA), Austin Scott (GA), Timmons (SC), Balderson (OH), Reschenthaler (PA), Higgins (LA), Cheney (WY), Mann (KS), Gosar (AZ), Latta (OH), Lamborn (CO), Joyce (PA), Biggs (AZ),  Herrell (NM), Gibbs (OH), Womack (AR), Stauber (MN), Ferguson (GA), Jackson (TX), LaMalfa (CA), Calvert (CA), Perry (PA), Cawthorn (NC), Baird (IN), Armstrong (ND), Keller (PA), Carl (AL), Emmer (MN), Valado (CA), Boebert (CO), and McClain (MI).