Duncan Files Hearing Protection Act

March 11, 2021
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Congressman Jeff Duncan (SC-03), former Co-Chair of the Congressional Sportsmen’s Caucus, filed the Hearing Protection Act in the 117th Congress:

“As an avid sportsman and gun owner, I experience hearing loss due to a lifetime of firearm noise just from doing what I love. I know I am not alone, and that’s why I have championed the Hearing Protection Act in Congress. Hunters need greater access to suppressors in order to protect against hearing damage and enhance safety and accuracy in the sport. Even in many European countries with strict gun laws, the use of suppressors is commonplace for both hearing protection and nuisance reduction in populated areas. I will continue to do all I can until the thousands of sportsmen and women in the United States have the tools they need in an easily accessible way to stay safe while enjoying God’s creation.”

The National Hearing Conservation Association (NHCA), the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) have all recommended suppressors as a tool to prevent hearing damage.

The Hearing Protection Act, which simplifies the process of purchasing suppressors for law abiding Americans who wish to protect their hearing, is supported by the American Suppressor Association, National Shooting Sports Foundation, Gun Owners of America, National Rifle Association, and National Association of Gun Rights.

Background: Congressman Duncan has led the Hearing Protection Act since 2017. The bill fixes the over-regulation of suppressors in order to increase access and safety for sportsmen and women. The Hearing Protection Act would eliminate nonsensical burdens to acquiring a suppressor and ensure the purchase of the suppressor is subject to the same background check process required to purchase a firearm. Read the bill HERE.

Original Cosponsors: Biggs (AZ), Cloud (TX), Palmer, (AL), Johnson (OH), Hice (GA), Young (AK), Fleischmann (TN), Reschenthaler (PA), Brooks (AL), Mooney (WV), Gaetz (FL), Rice (SC), Tiffany (WI), Lamborn (CO), Guthrie (KY), Mullin (OK), Timmons (SC), Scott (GA), Bergman (MI), Griffith (VA), Barr (KY), Greene (GA), Jordan (OH), Comer (KY), Gosar (AZ), Ferguson (GA), Joyce (PA), Buck (CO), Steube (FL), Budd (NC), Weber (TX), Norman (SC), Womack (AR), Williams (TX), Emmer (MN), and Kustoff (TN).